Freedom Pt I - Romans 8:1-4

“There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.” Romans 8:1 (KJV)

On January 6, 1941, President Franklin D. Roosevelt addressed Congress on the state of the war in Europe. At the close of his address, he said that he looked forward “to a world founded upon four essential human freedoms.” He named them:

  1. Freedom of speech,
  2. Freedom of worship,
  3. Freedom from want,
  4. And freedom from fear.

These words are still remembered, even though their ideals have not yet been realized everywhere in the world. Romans 8 is the Christian’s “Declaration of Freedom,” for in it Paul declares the four spiritual freedoms we enjoy because of our union with Jesus Christ:

  • Freedom from Judgment-No Condemnation (Romans 8:1–4),
  • Freedom from Defeat-No Obligation (Romans 8:5–17)
  • Freedom from Discouragement-No Frustration (Romans 8:18–30)
  • Freedom from Fear-No Separation (Romans 8:31–39)

“Where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty” (2 Corinthians 3:17)

Freedom from Judgment-No Condemnation (Romans 8:1–4)

In Adam, we were condemned. In Christ, there is no condemnation! The verse does not say “no mistakes” or “no failures,” or even “no sins.” Christians do fail and make mistakes, and they do sin. Abraham lied about his wife; David committed adultery; Peter tried to kill a man with his sword. To be sure, they suffered consequences because of their sins, but they did not suffer condemnation.

Paul made three statements about the believer and the Law, and together they add up to: no condemnation.

Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *